Millington re-elected as RTC chair

Newcomer, U.S. Army veteran Alex Plitsas elected vice chairman

James Millington

James Millington

On March 15, James “Jamie” Millington was unanimously re-elected as chairman of the Fairfield Republican Town Committee to serve a fifth term. Millington has been involved in leadership roles within municipal, state and federal campaigns since graduating from college in 1996.

Alex Plitsas

Alex Plitsas

Taking over as vice chairman is Alex Plitsas, a U.S. Army veteran, Bronze Star recipient and national security professional with 15-years of experience in the public and private sectors. Plitsas is also a political strategist and a regular contributor for national news publications. Plitsas succeeds former RTC Vice Chairman Michael Herley, who plans to focus on his work on the Representative Town Meeting (RTM).

“I am truly honored to serve another term to help move our party and town forward,” Millington remarked. “Serving our town has been a truly rewarding experience. I’ve had the opportunity to work with so many hard-working people, both Republicans and Democrats, who care deeply about our town and State. I am honored to have Alex join our team; his skill set and political insight will be an asset to the party and to all of our candidates.”

For the 2018-20 term, Millington said the RTC’s top goals are to reestablish a vigorous candidate recruitment process, to increase active voter outreach and to expand the party’s social media presence.

Millington added, “We have accomplished a lot over the past decade, but there is still much work to be done. Alex will help breathe new life into the RTC, and working as a team, we look forward to unifying our party and town on the issues we all care about. I am proud of the team we have assembled and feel optimistic about the future.”

Millington formerly served three terms on the RTM where he rose to the position of Majority Leader.  He currently also serves on the Fairfield Police Commission and is a Justice of the Peace.

In addition to Millington and Plitsas, Patricia Lucas was re-elected as Secretary and David Becker was re-appointed Treasurer. Jeff Wright, Jason Li and Pam Iacono were also appointed by Millington to the RTC’s Executive Board as Finance Director, Head of Social Media & Communications and Executive Director, respectively.

For more information, go to

About author

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© HAN Network. All rights reserved. Fairfield Sun, 1000 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress