Wrestling: Area grapplers excel at State Open

Warde Open Place winners: Alex Steele, Charlie Kane, Tim Kane, Jon Ocana

Warde Open place winners: Alex Steele, Charlie Kane, Tim Kane, Jon Ocana

Warde’s Timmy Kane and Charles Kane both won individual State Open titles on Saturday at the Floyd Little Athletic Center in New Haven.

Timmy Kane prevailed in a battle of unbeatens with Montville’s Joel Morth, winning a 9-3 minor decision in the final at 132. Charles Kane, at 145, then posted a 13-6 victory over Bryan Rojas of New Milford.

John Ocana placed fifth at 220 and Alex Steele was sixth at 126 for the Mustangs.

For Ludlowe, Austin Sherman (126) and Marcus Sherrod (152) notched second-place finishes. Sherman fell 15-5 to Baltazar Gonzalez of Ellis Tech in the finals, while Sherrod dropped a 1-0 heartbreaker to Emmett LiCastri of Immaculate/Joel Barlow.

Chase Lind took third at 160 for the Falcons, while Bobby Clark (145) and Lee Stenild-Johanson (195) had fifth-place finishes.

New Fairfield won the team title with 115.2 points, followed by Danbury (112.5) and New Milford (111).

Warde with sixth with 91 points and Ludlowe placed eighth with 87.

About author

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© HAN Network. All rights reserved. Fairfield Sun, 1000 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress