Concert tickets on sale now for Furuya Sisters Chamber Trio

On Sunday, Jan. 17, from 3-4:30 p.m., enjoy the start of a new year with Music at Pequot Library: Furuya Sisters, Chamber Trio.

The Furuya Sisters are all graduates of Juilliard, all virtuosos with different instruments, and have played for audiences worldwide. They are able to play as soloists, in duos, and as a trio. The NY Weekly Japion describes the Furuya Sisters’ performance as “[three] original personalities merg[ing] into one as beautiful harmony is borne.” Individual tickets are $25 in advance at, or $30 at the door. All tickets are general admission. Doors open 30 minutes before performances begin in Pequot Library’s Concert Hall.

Furuya Sisters Trio

Furuya Sisters Trio

Prior to the Pequot Library concert, The Furuya Sisters Trio is scheduled to play the White House Holiday Performance and at the Japanese Ambassador’s Residence for the Emperor’s Birthday. The Furuya Sisters have performed in the great concert halls of the United States and Europe, from Carnegie Hall to Chopin’s house in Valldemosa, Spain.  The three world-acclaimed Furuya Sisters – Mimi (cellist), Sakiko (pianist), and Harumi (violinist) – were each a child prodigy, with Harumi beginning her studies at age 2, and Mimi and Sakiko making their respective debuts at age 8.

All graduates of the Juilliard School, the Furuya Sisters have gone on to further studies at the Eastman School of Music, the Robert Schumann Hochschule in Düsseldorf, Germany, the Mozarteum and University of Salzburg in Austria, Harvard University, Sciences Po Paris, and University of Cambridge. The Furuya Sisters are the great-grandnieces of Baron Kijuro Shidehara, Prime Minister of Japan who was responsible for Article 9 (Peace Clause) of the Japanese Constitution.

The Furuya Sisters inaugurated The Furuya Sisters Concert Series in Fall 2014, for which the three sisters do everything from booking, administration, to all performances. The Furuya Sisters Concert Series has become a much respected touring classical concert series in the Tri-State Area, one that has garnered enthusiasm of the media as well as the general public, including  the interest of both Governors of NY and NJ and that of the U.S. President!  For more information on the trio, visit

Concert Program:

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Suite for Solo Cello No. 3 in C major, BWV 1009

   I. Prélude

   II. Allemande

   III. Courante

   IV. Sarabande

   V. Bourrée I & II

   VI. Gigue

                    – Mimi Furuya, cello

Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849)

Andante Spianato et Grande Polonaise Brillante in E-flat major, Op. 22

                    – Sakiko Furuya, piano

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Partita for Solo Violin No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1004


                    – Harumi Furuya, violin

Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)

Havanaise in E major, Op. 83

   Allegretto lusinghiero –

   Allegro – Tempo I –

   Allegro non troppo – Allegretto

                    – Harumi Furuya, violin & Sakiko Furuya, piano

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)

Trio for Violin Cello and Piano in A minor, Op. 50

   I. Pezzo elegiaco: Moderato assai – Allegro giusto

                    – Harumi Furuya, violin, Mimi Furuya, cello & Sakiko Furuya, piano

The Music at Pequot Library 2015-2016 Season continues with Nicole Wang, piano on Sunday, April 17, 2016 at 3pm; and the Errante/Cho Trio, chamber trio on Saturday, May 14, 2016 at 7:30pm. Visit for more information.

Please visit to learn more about this vibrant library, educational, arts and cultural institution. All classes and programs are open to everyone. For information: (203) 259-0346 ext. 15. Follow Pequot Library on Facebook and Twitter. Pequot Library Brings Culture to Life!

Furuya Sisters Trio

Furuya Sisters Trio

About author

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© HAN Network. All rights reserved. Fairfield Sun, 1000 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress