Fairfield PTA honors educators at June 8 ceremony

The Fairfield PTA Council has announced the 2015 recipients for its most prestigious awards: the Deanna O. Kiernan Award and the Alis B. McGrath Friend of Education Award. The Council also announced the Fairfield district educators who are recipients of Brian Fagan Award grants.

An awards ceremony will take place on Monday, June 8, at 7 p.m., in the Fairfield Woods Middle School Auditorium, 1115 Fairfield Woods Road, Fairfield. A reception with light refreshments will be held immediately after the ceremony. The public is invited to attend.

The PTA Council is proud to honor the following community members and educators who show their commitment to excellence in Fairfield Public Schools each and every day:


Elaine Davis is the recipient of this year’s Deanna O. Kiernan Award, given in memory of past PTA Council President Deanna O. Kiernan, who worked tirelessly to promote public education, the PTA and its mission.

Davis has been an active volunteer and dedicated leader in the PTA for over twenty years, serving on the PTAs and executive boards of PTA Council, North Stratfield School, Fairfield Woods Middle School, SEPTA (where she served as President for several terms) and PTA Council. She has chaired school enrichment programs, including Fairfield Arts for Youth, Diversity Day, Arts in Action and Community Grants; she has also served as a volunteer on countless school committees and projects and has shown herself to be a passionate advocate for special education. Ms. Davis has leveraged her roles as PTA Council Liaison to the First Selectman, VP of Leadership, and Education Budget Representative, attending numerous town meetings in order to better inform and engage the school community.


Leann Ratner is this year’s recipient of the Alis B. McGrath Friend of Education Award, which commemorates Ms. McGrath’s lifelong contributions to Fairfield, its educational system and the broader community.

Ratner’s work on behalf of Fairfield’s youth includes multiple positions on the PTA at North Stratfield School (serving more than 7 years on the PTA executive board), at Fairfield Woods Middle School, and on PTA Council, where she served as President for the 2011-12 school year. She has thoroughly demonstrated her commitment to excellence in education, not only through her PTA voluntarism, but also through her service elsewhere in the community. Ms. Ratner has been a member of the Friends of the Fairfield Public Library in roles of increasing responsibility, most recently as Vice Chairman, helping to advocate for quality library service for both children and adults and leading the promotion of the library as a center for lifelong learning. She is also a long-time volunteer with Mill River Lab and the Boy Scouts.


The Brian Fagan Grants recognize and reward outstanding teachers in the Fairfield school district who demonstrate leadership and are currently enrolled in a program leading to an administrative certification. Recipients receive a monetary grant to defray the cost of their educational expenses. The award is named after Brian Fagan, a former teacher, principal and assistant superintendent in Fairfield. This year’s recipients are:

• Joanna Caserta, School Counselor at Fairfield Ludlowe High School

• Nicole Colleran-Jeanetti, School Counselor at Fairfield Warde High School

• Julia Fedoryk, Latin Teacher at Fairfield Warde High School

• Darby Golino, Special Education Teacher at Fairfield Warde High School

About author

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© HAN Network. All rights reserved. Fairfield Sun, 1000 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress