Fairfield earns ‘Democracy Cup’

In honor of achieving the highest voter turnout for a town or city over 50,000 residents, State Reps. Brenda Kupchick (R-132), Laura Devlin (R-134), Cristin McCarty Vahey (D-133) and State Sen. Tony Hwang (R-28) along with Secretary of the State Denise Merrill presented the Town of Fairfield represented by First Selectman Mike Tetreau and the Fairfield Registrars of Voters Roger V. Autuori, (R) and Matthew Waggner with the ‘Democracy cup’ trophy.

According to the Secretary of the State earned the ‘Democracy cup’ award with a voter turnout figure of Fairfield 59.96% on Election Day November 4, 2014 for city and mid-size town.

“This award belongs to the people of Fairfield — to every resident who exercised what is arguably our greatest right as American citizens. It’s something we can all be proud,” Senator Hwang said. “It’s my hope that this award will inspire an even higher level of participation in every voting cycle, in every community in Connecticut.”

Rep. Kupchick said, “The involvement of citizens in the democratic process is the cornerstone of our civic life and this year the voters put their best foot forward.”

“This award is a testament to the fact that Fairfield is full of committed, engaged citizens,” Rep. McCarthy Vahey said. “We are fortunate to represent a community willing to remain strongly involved in the democratic process.”

“I am proud of the Fairfield voters for this impressive honor. Voting is a valued right and a right we should celebrate especially knowing so many people across the world do not have this freedom,” said Rep. Devlin, who a member of the legislature’s Government Elections and Administration committee which is charge of writing election law in our state.

Co-sponsored by the East Haddam Civic Association since 2000, the Democracy Cup was created as a way to encourage voter participation in each year’s elections. Under Democracy Cup criteria established by the Secretary of State towns with fewer than 5,000 registered voters are considered small; municipalities with between 5,000 and 14,999 and voters are considered mid-sized, towns with 15,000 and 49,999 registered voters are considered large towns.  Cities with more than 50,000 registered voters are their own category.


About author

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© HAN Network. All rights reserved. Fairfield Sun, 1000 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress