New year saw increase in state minimum wage

On January 1, Connecticut’s minimum wage increased from $8.70 an hour to $9.15 per hour.

Under a law passed earlier this year, the wage hike is the first of a series of increases to the state minimum wage through 2017. The rate will rise to $9.60 on Jan. 1, 2016, and then to $10.10 on Jan. 1, 2017.

“Connecticut was the first state in the nation to commit to increasing the minimum wage to $10.10 per hour because we want to make sure that no one who works full time lives in poverty,” Governor Malloy said. “This latest increase is just one more part of a phased-in series of gradual increases for hard-working men and women, many of whom are supporting their families and who will put this increase directly into Connecticut’s economy.”

Lt. Governor Nancy Wyman said, “For the 125,000 Connecticut women who earn at or just above the minimum wage, this increase is critical — it will help support families and improve women’s future economic security. I applaud Governor Malloy and the legislature for their leadership on this issue. Raising the minimum wage will ensure fewer low-wage workers live in poverty and it will improve the state’s economic health.”

Minimum wage rates for service employees, specifically restaurant waitpersons or bartenders, are slightly different and are determined by using a formula that takes tip deductions into account.The rates can be found on the Connecticut Department of Labor’s Web site at www.ct.gov/dol, or by contacting the Labor Department’s Division of Wage and Workplace Standards, at 860-263-6790.

About author

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© HAN Network. All rights reserved. Fairfield Sun, 1000 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress