Fairfield earns award for energy efficiency


Ed Boman, assistant director of Public Works, was on hand to receive Fairfield’s Power of Change Award for overall excellence during a recent ceremony at the state Capitol.

The town of Fairfield received highest honors for overall energy efficiency at the first annual Power of Change Awards, presented at the state Capitol.

Fairfield was recognized by state and energy leaders, including Gov. Dannel P. Malloy; Daniel C. Esty, commissioner of the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP); Stewart Hudson, president of the Emily Hall Tremaine Foundation; Sabina Shelby, managing trustee of the Hampshire Foundation; Mally Cox-Chapman, philanthropy advisor of the Common Sense Fund; and state legislative leaders and energy stakeholders.

In addition to a trophy and certificate, the Power of Change Award presented the town with a banner to be displayed on the Sherman Green in early June.

The Power of Change awards reinforce Malloy’s Lead by Example program, which calls for the win-win benefits of energy efficiency for Connecticut and its taxpayers. The winning municipal energy efficiency projects were celebrated as models for their energy-saving approaches and achievements in municipal buildings.

Fairfield stood out for setting clear metrics and adhering to its detailed and comprehensive plan to achieve many important energy and environmental goals over a period of time. Results include substantial reductions in energy consumption, switching to clean energy sources, reductions in pollution, nitrogen and greenhouse gas emissions and integrating a combination or proven and innovative energy saving technologies. Over several years, the entire program also saved the town millions of taxpayer dollars.

“These ten Power of Change Award winners demonstrate Connecticut’s leadership and innovation in energy efficiency,” Hudson said. “They are prime examples of how our municipalities are taking an active role in advancing a clean energy economy.

“We created the Power of Change Award first as an opportunity to encourage more state and municipal leaders to make important investments in their future, and also as an occasion to give energy efficiency leaders their due recognition,” he added. “ We believe that it is vital to celebrate success in our towns and cities. The Power of Change Awards celebrate good government practices that protect human health, reduce greenhouse gas emissions, and in the process, help the Connecticut economy and save taxpayer dollars.”

“I am thrilled our town has received this top honor,” First Selectman Michael Tetreau said. “We strive to be a model on energy efficiency that not only helps our environment, but reduces costs. I am especially grateful to DPW Assistant Director Ed Boman, who also serves as the town’s energy manager, for helping our town achieve hundreds of thousands of dollars in savings over the years by reducing energy consumption.”

In presenting the award, Hudson also acknowledged and thanked the members of the  15-member committee of energy and conservation experts who judged the awards .

For a full list of winners or more details, visit powerofchangeawards.com/news.

About author

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© HAN Network. All rights reserved. Fairfield Sun, 1000 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress